A-Z Databases
Find the best library databases for your research.
Loading...
The most frequently-used databases
Access billions of names in thousands of genealogical databases including Census and Vital Records, birth, marriage and death notices, the Social Security Death Index, Passenger lists and naturalizations, Military and Holocaust Records, City Directories, New York Emigrant Savings Bank records, and African American and Native American Records.
Consumer Reports is an independent, nonprofit member organization that works side by side with consumers for truth, transparency, and fairness in the marketplace. Consumer Reports works to create a fair and just marketplace for all.
Tutorial
Gale In Context: Global Issues is a digital database providing international viewpoints and authoritative content on current world events, social, environmental, and political topics.
hoopla allows you to borrow movies, music, audiobooks, ebooks, comics, and TV shows to enjoy on your computer, tablet, or phone – and even your TV! You can borrow up to seven (7) Hoopla items each month. Use hoopla’s website or app to find eBooks, audiobooks, graphic novels, music, movies, and television shows. Sign up with your library card number and PIN using the app or on hoopla’s website.
hoopla app for iOS (Apple)
hoopla app for Android
hoopla app for Kindle Fire
For more assistance, try hoopla’s help site or contact the Library at (508) 946-2470 ext. 1.
Designed for children ages six and up.
Teaching method: KidSpeak uses an immersion-style approach with a variety of engaging, age-appropriate activities, including: Interactive activities, puzzles, and songs.
Libby is a service offered by your library that lets you borrow digital content (like ebooks and audiobooks) anytime, anywhere.
Tutorial
The Middleborough History and Genealogy Portal includes the following:
- Annual Town Reports (1878-2024)
- Town, Street, and People Listings (1924-2023)
- The Middleborough Antiquarian (1959-1998)
- The Middleboro Gazette (1850-1927)
*Note: The Middleboro Gazette has been digitized through its last publication in 2021. Access to the Middleboro Gazette from 1927 through 2021 is available in the Library. - The Middleboro Gazette - Index (1852-1989)
- Middleborough High School Yearbooks (1929-2023)
- Middleborough Vital Records (1670-1915)
- The Nemasket Weekly (2022-2024)
If you're connected to our WIFI network, you can just log in to the NYTimes.com website to read unlimited articles!
Follow these steps:
- Connect to the Library's WIFI Network ("Library").
- Visit NYTimes.com.
- Create a free NYTimes.com account (or log in to an existing account).
- Start reading unlimited articles!
Accessing The New York Times at your Public Library (Tutorial)
Areas of interest within the New York Times:
- Athletic | Sports | https://www.nytimes.com/athletic/
- Cooking | Recipes and More | https://cooking.nytimes.com/
- Games | Wordle, Crosswords, and More | https://www.nytimes.com/crosswords
- TimesMachine | Newspaper Archives | https://timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser
- Wirecutter | Consumer Reviews | https://www.nytimes.com/wirecutter/
In-library access is available through a web browser only, not in the NYTimes app.
Get access to unlimited articles from the New York Times from home for 24 hours at a time!
Follow these steps:
- Request a 24-hour access code.
- Create a free NYTimes.com account (or log in to an existing account)
- Read unlimited articles or recipes for 24 hours!
- Repeat this as often as you like!
Areas of interest within the New York Times:
- Athletic | Sports | https://www.nytimes.com/athletic/
- Cooking | Recipes and More | https://cooking.nytimes.com/
- Games | Wordle, Crosswords, and More | https://www.nytimes.com/crosswords
- TimesMachine | Newspaper Archives | https://timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser
- Wirecutter | Consumer Reviews | https://www.nytimes.com/wirecutter/
Access is available through a web browser or the NYTimes app.
Stay connected with the world with unlimited access to more than 7,000 publications from over 120 countries, in 60 different languages. Popular titles include The Boston Globe, The Economist, The Guardian, Newsweek, Der Tagesspiegel, and China Daily. (Please note that issues of The Economist have a 7-day checkout period and can be checked out again once the 7 days have passed.)
Classic puzzles and eBooks are now available on PressReader.
Using the PressReader app:
- Go to the PressReader app page and download the app for your device.
- Open the PressReader app and choose the Libraries sign-in option (look for the library card icon).
- Tap on Select Library or Group, type “Middleborough Public Library,” and tap Middleborough Public Library.
- Tap Sign In, enter your library card number, and tap Connect to Resources.
- At the end of 30 days, you need to reactivate your account. Sign out and then sign back in again with your library card number and PIN to reactivate your complimentary access for an additional 30 days.
Get Help:
Transparent Language Online is a comprehensive, browser- and app-based language learning system offering over 110 languages for English speakers and English courses for speakers of more than 30 languages. It provides a complete system for developing all four core language skills (listening, speaking, reading, writing/typing) through pre-populated and user-added lessons, adaptive activities, pronunciation practice with speech analysis, and an adaptive learning algorithm that personalizes the experience. The platform is accessible on computers, tablets, and phones, featuring goal setting, progress tracking, vocabulary refresh, an American Citizenship Test prep course, and a kids' program called KidSpeak.
An on-demand collection of children’s books available on any device, featuring interactive picture books with narration and animation, read-aloud videos, TumbleTunes songs, graphic novels, early readers, chapter books, and more!
To use TumbleBook Library on your personal computer, browse TumbleBook Library and click on the title you would like to read. Click Play Video to get started.
To use TumbleBook Library on your smartphone or tablet, we recommend using the browser on your mobile device and continuing as you would on your personal computer.
The Consortium creates 2-3 online bestselling-author events per month which are streamed to patrons of every member library. These are live events with interactive Q&A sessions where participants can ask questions directly to the author. We are highly committed to offering a diverse mix of perspectives and will ensure that half or more of the speakers will be women and/or people of color.
Books and authors selected will cover a wide range of fiction and non-fiction genres including historical fiction, contemporary fiction, romance, OwnVoices, poetry, business, personal growth, social justice, history, art, culture and more.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Gale In Context: Global Issues is a digital database providing international viewpoints and authoritative content on current world events, social, environmental, and political topics.
Gale In Context: Middle School is an online research database designed for middle schoolers (grades 6-8) to help them with homework and develop research skills by providing age-appropriate, trusted content across subjects like history, science, social studies, and literature.
Gale in Context: U.S. History is an online database and research tool that provides contextual information on significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history, from the arrival of Vikings to the present day.
Gale In Context: World History is a digital research database that provides authoritative and media-rich content on world history, from ancient civilizations to current events, for students and researchers.
Designed for children ages six and up.
Teaching method: KidSpeak uses an immersion-style approach with a variety of engaging, age-appropriate activities, including: Interactive activities, puzzles, and songs.
MyHeritage includes billions of historical documents from 70+ countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes, and additional resources that span the past five centuries.
Over 100 Live, Interactive Weekly Fitness Classes for FREE
Want to refresh your workout routine without going to a gym or a studio? Or are you starting from scratch? ompractice gives you access to tons of live scheduled classes weekly, ranging from strength training and yoga to tai chi and meditation, in the comfort of your own home. These are virtual, interactive, camera-on classes with a teacher, but there is also a video library of recorded classes you can follow on your own time.
The first step is creating an ompractice account with your library card: https://app.ompractice.com/signup.
Once an account is created, you can log into your account anytime: https://app.ompractice.com/login.
Stay connected with the world with unlimited access to more than 7,000 publications from over 120 countries, in 60 different languages. Popular titles include The Boston Globe, The Economist, The Guardian, Newsweek, Der Tagesspiegel, and China Daily. (Please note that issues of The Economist have a 7-day checkout period and can be checked out again once the 7 days have passed.)
Classic puzzles and eBooks are now available on PressReader.
Using the PressReader app:
- Go to the PressReader app page and download the app for your device.
- Open the PressReader app and choose the Libraries sign-in option (look for the library card icon).
- Tap on Select Library or Group, type “Middleborough Public Library,” and tap Middleborough Public Library.
- Tap Sign In, enter your library card number, and tap Connect to Resources.
- At the end of 30 days, you need to reactivate your account. Sign out and then sign back in again with your library card number and PIN to reactivate your complimentary access for an additional 30 days.
Get Help:
Transparent Language Online is a comprehensive, browser- and app-based language learning system offering over 110 languages for English speakers and English courses for speakers of more than 30 languages. It provides a complete system for developing all four core language skills (listening, speaking, reading, writing/typing) through pre-populated and user-added lessons, adaptive activities, pronunciation practice with speech analysis, and an adaptive learning algorithm that personalizes the experience. The platform is accessible on computers, tablets, and phones, featuring goal setting, progress tracking, vocabulary refresh, an American Citizenship Test prep course, and a kids' program called KidSpeak.
Loading ...
title
Loading...